Enhancing Mathematics Education in Queensland.


Provide professional engagement, voice and support for mathematics education.

As the Queensland branch of the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT), QAMT works collaboratively with other national, state and territory Mathematics teachers’ associations (MTAs) and with other groups which promote and support quality Mathematics teaching and learning.

All members of QAMT are automatically afforded membership of the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers. Click here to visit the AAMT Website.

QAMT was established in 1966 formerly Qld branch of the Royal Mathematical Society of London 1922-1965.

Life Members: Godfrey Hubbard, Agnes Carnegie, Majorie Carss, Garnet J Greenbury(deceased), Neville Grace, Kiddy Bolger(deceased), William(Bill) Simpson, Dr Neil Williams, Dr Geoffrey Morgan, Rex Boggs, Dr Steven Nisbet, Jan Cavanagh, Peter Cooper, Jackie Mergard, James Lowe, Dr Michael Bulmer, Professor Merrilyn Goos, Chicri Maksoud, Greg Bland and Rodney Anderson.

Past Presidents: 1966-1967 Godfrey Hubbard; 1968-1969 Leo Howard; 1970-1971 Graham Jones; 1972-1973 John Elkins ; 1973-1974 Graham Coote; 1975-1976 Majorie Carss; 1977-1978 Steve Murray; 1979-1980 Peter Lund; 1981-1982 Judy Hempel; 1982-1983 Neville Grace; 1984-1985 Robin Wallace; 1986-1987 John Cassidy; 1988-1989 Jill Hedley; 1990-1991 Terry O’Hanlon-Rose; 1992-1993 Tom Cooper (deceased); 1994-1995 Vincent Geiger; 1996-1997 Rhonda Faragher; 1998-1999 John McKinlay; 2000-2003 John Butler; 2004-2007 James Lowe; 2008-2009 Greg Bland; 2009-2011 James Lowe; 2012-2016 Rodney Anderson; 2016-2018 Greg Bland; Stephen Broderick 2018-2021; Paulina Sliedrecht 2022-