About QAMT | Mission Statement

Since 1922, Queensland Teachers of Mathematics have been supporting each other, to enhance the quality of mathematics through their membership of QAMT.

Our members are drawn from all levels of schooling – pre-school to tertiary – and from all systems – State, Catholic, Independent, Universities and TAFE. We also have members from interstate and overseas.

Through professional development activities, our professional journals and electronic Newsletters, problems and our competitions for students, members keep up to date with issues of mathematics teaching, and gain support for developing their students’ love of mathematics.

We are an active and enthusiastic association and I invite you to join.

Monique Russell (President 2024 – current)

QAMT was established in 1966 formerly Qld branch of the Royal Mathematical Society of London 1922-1965.

Life Members: Godfrey Hubbard, Agnes Carnegie, Majorie Carss, Garnet J Greenbury(deceased), Neville Grace, Kiddy Bolger(deceased), William(Bill) Simpson, Dr Neil Williams, Dr Geoffrey Morgan, Rex Boggs, Dr Steven Nisbet, Jan Cavanagh, Peter Cooper, Jackie Mergard, James Lowe, Dr Michael Bulmer and Professor Merrilyn Goos.

Past Presidents: 1966-1967 Godfrey Hubbard 1968-1969 Leo Howard 1970-1971 Graham Jones 1972-1973 John Elkins 1973-1974 Graham Coote 1975-1976 Majorie Carss 1977-1978 Steve Murray 1979-1980 Peter Lund 1981-1982 Judy Hempel 1982-1983 Neville Grace 1984-1985 Robin Wallace 1986-1987 John Cassidy 1988-1989 Jill Hedley 1990-1991 Terry O’Hanlon-Rose 1992-1993 Tom Cooper (deceased) 1994-1995 Vincent Geiger 1996-1997 Rhonda Faragher 1998-1999 John McKinlay 2000-2003 John Butler 2004-2007 James Lowe 2008-2009 Greg Bland 2009-2011 Jim Lowe 2012 – 2016 Rodney Anderson 2016-2018 Greg Bland 2018 -2021 Stephen Broderick 2022-2023 Paulina Sliedrecht

Read more